Castle:Goodrich Castle

  • English Heritage



Goodrich Castle

Goodrich Castle

Due to coronavirus providers may be closed or offering a slightly different service over the next few months.

We will try to keep this page as up to date as possible but please check with the provider directly for more information. Thank you.


Visitor Operation Team



Also at this Venue


Goodrich Castle stands majestically on a wooded hill commanding the passage of the River Wye into the picturesque valley of Symonds Yat.

Goodrich Castle was begun in the late 11th century, by the English landowner Godric who gave it his name. A generation later the splendidly preserved square keep which still forms its core was added, probably in the time of Richard ‘Strongbow’ de Clare, Earl of Pembroke and Lord of Goodrich 1148-76. Under King Richard the Lionheart, Goodrich was granted along with the earldom of Pembroke to the famous William Marshal, a great castle builder who may have initiated work on the inner ward. Each of the Marshal’s four sons inherited the fortress in turn, the last dying childless at Goodrich in 1245. Thereafter the fortress and earldom passed to Henry III’s half-brother, William de Valance, who rebuilt its defences and living quarters in the most up-to-date style.

Goodrich Castle still boasts one of the most complete sets of medieval domestic buildings surviving in any English castle. William’s widow Countess Joan frequently stayed here with an entourage of up to 200, entertaining her relations and friends in the most lavish style.

During the Civil War, Goodrich was held successively by both sides, Sir Henry Lingen’s Royalists eventually surrendered in 1646 under threats of undermining and a deadly Parliamentarian mortar.
The famous ‘Roaring Meg’, the only surviving Civil War mortar, has returned to the castle after 350 years. The visitor centre features an exhibition exploring life at the castle from its late 11th century origins until its dramatic fall in 1646, including Civil War artefacts.

Disabled access (limited, please call for details or ask the Visitor Centre on arrival).

The tearoom will close 30 minutes before the site closes.

Coach parties acceptedEnglish Heritage PropertyEducation/study areaFacilities for educational visitsGift shopOn-site cateringOn-site light refreshmentsPublic toiletsRegional Tourist Board MemberAccepts groups

Children welcome

Opening details

Opening Times
28 Mar-30 Sep, daily 10am-6pm
1 Oct-1 Nov, daily 10am-5pm
2 Nov-14 Feb, Sat-Sun, 10am-4pm
15-19 Feb, daily 10am-4pm
20 Feb-24 Mar, Sat-Sun, 10am-4pm
24-26 Dec, 31 Dec, 1 Jan Closed

Last admission half an hour before closing.


Adult £6.60 /Conc £6.00/ Child £4.00 / Family £17.20


See location of Goodrich Castle on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: SO 574192  Lat: 51.87019 Long: -2.61969

5 miles south of Ross-on-Wye off the A40 and follow the tourist signs. Parking available at a charge

Parking: with charge


  • Coach parties acceptedCoach parties accepted
  • English Heritage PropertyEnglish Heritage Property
  • Education/study areaEducation/study area
  • Facilities for educational visitsFacilities for educational visits
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site cateringOn-site catering
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Regional Tourist Board MemberRegional Tourist Board Member
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome