image for Workshop/Course item typePotter's Wheel One Day Course at Eastnor Pottery

  • Worcestershire Hidden Gems

Workshop/Course, Sat 12 Jan 2019, £130

WORCS HIDDEN GEMS

Course participant learning how to make pottery

Course participant learning how to make pottery

Potter's wheel course participant learning how to make pottery on the potter's wheel at Eastnor Pottery & The Flying Potter Herefordshire

Address

Home Farm,
Eastnor,
Ledbury,
HR8 1RD

Also at this Venue

Details

Ever yearned to go ‘hands on’ with a potter’s wheel…or maybe you need to fine tune your technique? Whatever your experience, beginner or improver, this is the course for you.

Small friendly groups and eight electric potter’s wheels ensure plenty of individual attention and guidance. Participants are consistently amazed at what they achieve in a day!

Cost: £130 Includes refreshments, lunch, firing, glazing (1-3 pots) and the cost of posting your masterpieces.

Content:
The workshop starts at 10am where you’ll be individually assigned a potter’s wheel for the duration of the workshop. After tea/coffee, introductions and initial demonstration you will be taken as a group, step by step, through the pot throwing process. Once you have got the hang of things, you will be encouraged to develop at your own pace with individual tutoring as and when required. Around 1pm, a lunch consisting of rolls, cheese, ham, salad and fruit is served. In the afternoon there will be further demonstrations after which you will work larger lumps of clay, make bigger pots and explore different shapes and forms. At the end of the workshop you will be expected to clean your wheel and select your favourite one or two pieces, depending on size to be fired and glazed. (Extra pots can be fired at cost – approx. £6 per item payable on the day) The session ends at 4pm.

Your fabulous creations will be left with us to dry thoroughly before they go into the kiln. Once they have been fired and glazed, we?ll carefully wrap and dispatch your finished pots to your home address. You will be delighted at the professional results when they arrive on your doorstep approximately one month later

Dates for 2019 Sat 12 Jan, Sat 26 Jan, Sat 9 Feb, Sat 16 Feb, Sat 9 Mar, Sat 23 Mar, Sat 13 Apr, Sat 27 Apr, Sat 11 May, Sat 25 May, Sat 8 Jun, Sat 22 Jun, Sat 6 Jul, Sat 14 Sept, Sat 21 Sept, Sat 12 Oct, Sat 26 Oct, Sat 16 Nov, Sat 23 Nov, Sat 7 Dec. 10am – 4pm
Other dates are available for x2 or more participants and large groups

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs accepted

Event details

Dates Times
Sat 12 Jan 2019 10:00 to 16:00

Prices

£130 Includes refreshments, lunch, firing, glazing (1-3 pots) and the cost of posting your masterpieces.

Location

Directions

See location of Eastnor Pottery on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: SO 729370  Lat: 52.03138 Long: -2.39510

Eastnor Pottery is situated on the country estate of Eastnor Castle, close to the Malvern Hills. Eastnor is two miles east of Ledbury on the A438. Once in the village, follow the signs for the pottery. Home of the Flying Potter - let us come to you.

Parking: free

Facilities

  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs acceptedDogs accepted